Kenneth Grange & Hampstead Theatre

The good thing about being a young professional in London is that, if you know the right people, you can be end-of-the-month poor half way through the month, yet still find oozing-with-cool events to keep you occupied until the money comes back in and you can start spending again. But you must know the right people.

Like my friend Jake who took me to the Design Gallery’s new exhibition on Kenneth Grange. You’ve probably never heard of him, but he has designed all of the following things:

TX1 London taxi

Morphy Richards

Imperial typewriter

Venner parking meter

Bendix washing machine

Intercity 125

And, probably his most famous creation:

Kodak Instamatic

We ate dinner afterwards at the Blueprint Cafe next door and then there was then an open Q&A with the designer himself, hosted by Hugh Pearman, editor of the RIBA Journal.

The night after this, I was sitting behind Emma Thomson at the opening night of No Naughty Bits at Hampstead Theatre. I hadn’t paid for a ticket, indeed I hadn’t known anything about it until just after lunch that afternoon when my friend Betsy rang me to tell me what I was doing that evening. And (marvel of marvels) there was an open bar afterwards. Which goes to show – sometimes it really is all about who you know.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, London, Theatre

Leave a Reply

