Tron: Legacy Reconfigured – featuring Boys Noize

In the summer of 2007, I was travelling around Europe, applying to universities (for a moment I had the misguided impression I might have more fun in sunny Montpellier than in granite Aberdeen). Afterwards, I went to meet friends of friends in Berlin and from there we travelled by train to the middle of nowhere in Sachsen-Anhalt to attend the Melt! techno festival.

I had never listened to such music, I had stubbornly refused for years to appreciate House or Electro or Nu Rave or anything else. Three days of constant exposure did rather a lot to change my mind. It was brilliant.

Disney’s latest instalment of the Tron franchise, Tron: Legacy was released just before Christmas and received a lot of attention in particular because its soundtrack saw the comeback of Daft Punk, arguably the most successful electronic music act in the world (you’ve probably seen/heard this song by them). The score took two years to complete and received rave reviews. Disney is now releasing a remix album of the score entitled Tron: Legacy Reconfigured, which will be released on the 5th of April of this year.

Leaks have already started appearing – here’s a rip from Irish DJ Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 show last Friday. It features a remix by my all-time favourite DJ, Boys Noize.

On a side note, I think it’s very interesting that an enterprise like Disney, about as mainstream as you could possibly get, is getting so heavily involved in what was once a seriously marginal area of the music industry.

As Robert Gallagher said: “Change is inevitable – except from a vending machine.”

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “Tron: Legacy Reconfigured – featuring Boys Noize

  1. I am really, really, REALLY looking forward to this album – from the bits I have heard I like it even better than the versions used in the film, which I loved. They’ve utilised some pretty solid artists on this so I think it’s going to be hard to disappoint.

Leave a Reply

