Sugar

Last night, I watched a film recommended to me by my friend Roddy. He insisted I would like it, though I couldn’t quite work out why since all I knew was that it was ‘about baseball’.

The story focuses on Miguel ‘Sugar’ Santos (played by Algenis Soto), a young man in the Dominican Republic playing professionally at a baseball academy. The film tracks his big break to play for minor leagues in the United States and the attached possibilities of pulling his family out of poverty.

Being European, I have very little experience of the Hispanic minority so prevalent in the United States. A film like Sugar gives a stunning portrayal of the struggle of an entire people stretching from the Southern Caribbean to New York. I imagine it will become something of a modern classic. Behold, the trailer:

Leave a comment

Filed under Film

Leave a Reply

