Telephone sheep

If I was a person more at ease with the idea of taking my time and if it wasn’t for the fact that I like to be able to call people as quickly as possible, I would almost certainly fill my home with rotary phones. We never had one in our house when I was growing up and I remember it being one of the great ‘tragedies’ of my childhood. They were just so much fun to use.

Jean-Luc Cornec is an artist based in Berlin who bid his audience, in an exhibition at Frankfurt’s Museum of Communications to recall simpler times through a flock of sheep grazing at will, made out of the bakelite and tangled wires of old rotary telephones.

I’ve just arrived back from a weekend staying at a friend’s farm in the remote environs of Loch Awe in Argyll. The pure bliss of no internet, no television (except, of course, for the rugby), no interruptions generally, makes me think the artist’s nostalgia is hardly unreasonable.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art

Leave a Reply

