Tom Ford: A true artist knows how to sell

I’m not a high fashion type. I don’t care enough about being on trend, being a student, I don’t have the money anyway and, probably most significantly, I’m a man. The fashion business is one of those few-and-far-between industries that are very much female-centric. It is for this reason that, when I read last autumn that Tom Ford was releasing a women’s clothing line (for the first time in years), I was rather uninterested.

What’s more, I even scoffed aloud at the pretentiousness of his first show. The convention in the fashion industry is that the clothes be shown as publicly as possible in order to advertise to the masses. Ford, on the other hand, banned all phones and cameras from his catwalk showing of Spring/Summer 2011, which was held at a tiny secret location in New York during fashion week. Only a select few were invited to attend. The photographer Terry Richardson took all the stills and the models were all famous friends and patrons of Ford: Beyonce, Julianne Moore and Lauren Hutton among them.

However, this video of the event immediately rid me of cynicism and made me wish I’d been there. It’s just so… glamorous. And I suppose, that’s the point. What would haute couture, or fashion in general, be if fashionistas didn’t know how to make you want it?

Leave a comment

Filed under Clothes, Culture

Leave a Reply

