Ellie Goulding – nach bhfuil sí go hiontach?!

Every once in a while, especially in Britain, a singer comes along whose voice seems to define the time. The last bunch came all at once. Lily Allen, Leona Lewis and Amy Winehouse were kicking it about three years ago but since then, nobody else has really captured my imagination.

When I first heard Ellie Goulding’s song ‘Starry Eyed’, I really did think it was much of a much-ness. Not being one for ethereal softly-softly music or voices, it didn’t appeal to me. I liked the soulful emotion of Winehouse, the gutsy and witty lyrics of Lily and the sheer “WOW!” of Leona Lewis. The only thing I could even slightly get into was the remix of ‘Starry Eyed’ by Jakwob, but that was far more to do with the grimy, steel-balls-against-a-concrete-wall dubstep chorus than the singing.

However, since she covered Elton John’s Your Song for the John Lewis Christmas advert, I’ve been forced to admit to myself that I spoke too soon. The girl’s voice is really very beautiful and even though I want to say I hate quiet music that sinks into the back of your mind, Ellie Goulding makes me love it. As if to add insult to injury – Goulding wins my admiration even more so because she can sing live, with nothing but a guitar for company.

Here are a few videos of covers she’s done recently. If you have the time, listen to them all.

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “Ellie Goulding – nach bhfuil sí go hiontach?!

  1. M

    I first discovered her through a dubstep remix and have been in love ever since:

  2. Pingback: Dylan Haskins: The face of Ireland’s next political generation? | An Irishman Abroad

Leave a Reply

